ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
Pepperstone logoPlus500 logo

Pepperstone vs Plus500

Client money is held by Pepperstone Limited, which the FCA, FRN 684312, has authorised since 5 Aug 2015. Client money is held by Plus500UK Ltd, which the FCA, FRN 509909, has authorised since 29 Jun 2010.

Pepperstone and Plus500 side by side

Every figure comes from the broker itself, along with the date on which we read it. They are listed in the order people search for them, not as a preference.

FactPepperstonePlus500
UK firmPepperstone LimitedPlus500UK Ltd
FRN684312509909
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since5 Aug 201529 Jun 2010
Clone firms on the register312
Retail CFD accounts that lose money73.6%, read 2 Nov 202676%, read 2 Nov 2026
EUR/USD spread as stated0 pips (minimum, Razor)Not stated
Smallest deposit£10Not stated
Inactivity feeno inactivity feeUSD 10 per month at most, after at least three months with no login
Withdrawal feefree (GBP 15 for a wire transfer to an overseas bank account))no charge (We Don’t Charge Deposit & Withdrawal Fees); charges may apply if you take out less than the stated minimum
Withdrawal timecards, Apple Pay and Google Pay take 1 working day at most; bank transfers take up to 7 working daysProcessing normally takes 1-3 working days; e-wallets take 3-7, while bank transfers take 5-7.
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingYesNot stated
Retail leverage1:30 on major currency pairs; 1:20 on major indices and gold; 1:10 on other commodities; 1:5 on shares1:30 on Forex CFDs; 1:5 on share CFDs
PlatformsMT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, Pepperstone platformPlus500 trading platform (web and app)
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionYesYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.12 of 5 (92 ratings)4.25 of 5 (7,849 ratings)

Both brokers have the same FCA status. The same goes for CFDs, the demo account and negative balance protection.

Source pages: pepperstone.com/en-gb, read 2 Nov 2026; plus500.com/en-GB, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/costs-and-fees, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/funding-methods, read 2 Nov 2026; plus500.com/en-gb/aboutus, read 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
Pepperstone and Plus500 in dark blue. Every figure is the broker's own, taken from the risk warning on its UK site, read 2 Nov 2026. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. When retail investors trade spread bets and CFDs with this provider, 73.6% of their accounts lose money. Think about whether spread bets and CFDs work in a way you understand, and whether the high risk of losing your money is affordable for you.

The wording here is Pepperstone's own, taken from pepperstone.com, read 2 Nov 2026.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. When retail investors trade CFDs with this provider, 76% of their accounts lose money. You should consider whether you know how CFDs work, and whether losing your money at that level of risk is something you can afford.

Plus500's own words, published on plus500.com, read 2 Nov 2026.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons