ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
Plus500 logoTrading 212 logo

Plus500 vs Trading 212

Since 29 Jun 2010, Plus500UK Ltd has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 509909, and holds client money. Since 1 Oct 2014, Trading 212 UK Limited has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 609146. The firm holds client money.

Plus500 and Trading 212 side by side

Every figure comes from the broker and includes the date we read it. They’re arranged by search order, not by preference for one over another.

FactPlus500Trading 212
UK firmPlus500UK LtdTrading 212 UK Limited
FRN509909609146
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since29 Jun 20101 Oct 2014
Clone firms on the register124
Retail CFD accounts that lose money76%, read 2 Nov 202675%, read 2 Nov 2026
Smallest depositNot stated£10
Inactivity feeAfter at least three months without login, a monthly charge of up to USD 10 applies.Not stated
Withdrawal feefree (We Don’t Charge Deposit and Withdrawal Fees); charges may apply when withdrawals are below the stated minimumfree (third-party banks may charge)
Withdrawal timeProcessing normally takes 1-3 working days; e-wallets take 3-7, while bank transfers take 5-7.Not stated
CFDsYesYes
Share dealingNot statedYes
Retail leverage1:30 on Forex CFDs; 1:5 on share CFDsThe margin table lists 1:30 for major currency pairs, 1:20 for minor pairs, 1:10 for other commodities and 1:5 for stocks and ETFs.)
PlatformsPlus500 trading platform (web and app)Trading 212 app and web platform
Demo accountYesNot stated
Negative balance protectionYesYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.25 of 5 (7,849 ratings)4.7 of 5 (412,613 ratings)

On FCA status, CFDs and negative balance protection, the two firms match.

Read 2 Nov 2026, source: plus500.com/en-GB. Other sources were trading212.com/trading-instruments/cfd, read 2 Nov 2026; trading212.com/terms/cfd, read 2 Nov 2026; plus500.com/en-gb/aboutus, read 2 Nov 2026; and helpcentre.trading212.com/hc/en-us/articles/11471872562461-What-are-the-fees-in-the-CFD-account, read 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
Plus500 and Trading 212 in dark blue. Every figure comes from the broker's own UK website risk warning, read 2 Nov 2026. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Among retail investor accounts trading CFDs with this provider, 76% lose money. Ask yourself if you understand how CFDs work, and if you can afford the risk of losing your money, given how high that risk is.

Wording from Plus500 itself on plus500.com, read 2 Nov 2026.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Among retail investor accounts trading CFDs with this provider, 75% lose money. Ask yourself if you understand how CFDs work, and if you can afford the risk of losing your money, given how high that risk is.

The wording published on trading212.com, which we read 2 Nov 2026, comes from Trading 212 itself.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons