ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
CMC Markets logoPlus500 logo

CMC Markets vs Plus500

Since 1 Dec 2001, CMC Markets UK plc has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 173730. It holds client money. Since 29 Jun 2010, Plus500UK Ltd has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 509909, and holds client money.

CMC Markets and Plus500 side by side

Every figure comes from the broker and includes the date we checked it. People search for them in the order shown, which doesn't reflect a preference.

FactCMC MarketsPlus500
UK firmCMC Markets UK plcPlus500UK Ltd
FRN173730509909
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since1 Dec 200129 Jun 2010
Clone firms on the register212
Retail CFD accounts that lose money69%, read 2 Nov 202676%, read 2 Nov 2026
EUR/USD spread as stated0.5 pips (minimum, Spread bet / CFD (standard))Not stated
Inactivity fee££10 per month for dormant accounts (no open positions, plus no trading for one year))A monthly fee of up to USD 10 applies once you go three months or more without logging in.
Withdrawal feeNo charge for card payments and standard bank transfers; international bank transfers may attract fees.Free (We Don’t Charge Deposit and Withdrawal Fees); taking out less than the stated minimum may bring charges.
Withdrawal timeCard processing takes from within an hour to five working days, depending on the issuer. A UK bank transfer takes one or two working days. An international bank transfer takes three through five working days.Processing normally takes 1-3 working days; e-wallets take 3-7, while bank transfers take 5-7.
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingYesNot stated
Share dealingYesNot stated
Retail leverageNot stated1:30 on Forex CFDs; 1:5 on share CFDs
PlatformsMT4, TradingView, CMC Markets web platform, plus the CMC mobile app ('CMC Platform')')Plus500 trading platform (web and app)
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionNot statedYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.21 of 5 (411 ratings)4.25 of 5 (7,849 ratings)

FCA status, CFDs and demo account are the same for both.

Source: plus500.com/en-GB, read 2 Nov 2026; cmcmarkets.com/en-gb/account-comparison, read 2 Nov 2026; cmcmarkets.com/en-gb/forex, read 2 Nov 2026; cmcmarkets.com/en-gb/trading-costs, read 2 Nov 2026; plus500.com/en-gb/aboutus, read 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
CMC Markets and Plus500 in dark blue. Every figure comes from the broker's own risk warning, read 2 Nov 2026, on its UK website. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Among retail investor accounts that spread bet and/or trade CFDs with this provider, 69% lose money. Whether you understand how CFDs, OTC options, spread bets or any of our other products work should form part of your decision. Whether taking the high risk of losing your money is affordable for you should be considered as well.

This is CMC Markets's wording from cmcmarkets.com, read 2 Nov 2026.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. When trading CFDs with this provider, 76% of retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work. You should also consider whether you can afford the high risk involved in losing your money.

This is Plus500's wording from plus500.com, read 2 Nov 2026.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons