ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
Plus500 logoXTB logo

Plus500 vs XTB

Since 29 Jun 2010, Plus500UK Ltd has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 509909, and holds client money. Since 17 Jan 2011, XTB Limited has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 522157; it holds client money.

Plus500 and XTB side by side

Each figure comes from the broker, along with the date we read it. Their order follows what people search for and doesn't show a preference.

FactPlus500XTB
UK firmPlus500UK LtdXTB Limited
FRN509909522157
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since29 Jun 201017 Jan 2011
Clone firms on the register129
Retail CFD accounts that lose money76%, read 2 Nov 202674%, read 2 Nov 2026
Smallest depositNot statedNo minimum
Inactivity feeIf you don't log in for at least three months, a fee of up to USD 10 a month applies.Every active client pays nothing for account maintenance, whatever their balance.
Withdrawal feeFree, as We Don’t Charge Deposit and Withdrawal Fees. Any withdrawals below the stated minimum may be charged.free
Withdrawal timeProcessing normally takes 1-3 working days; e-wallets take 3-7, while bank transfers take 5-7.processing completes within up to 3 working days; allocation of bank wires and card payments takes up to 3 working days
CFDsYesYes
Share dealingNot statedYes
Retail leverage1:30 on Forex CFDs; 1:5 on share CFDsFor retail clients, the maximum is 1:30 on major forex pairs.
PlatformsPlus500 trading platform (web and app)XTB platform (xStation)
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionYesYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.25 of 5 (7,849 ratings)4.66 of 5 (1,977 ratings)

Both have the same FCA status and offer CFDs, a demo account and negative balance protection.

Source pages: plus500.com/en-GB, read 2 Nov 2026; xtb.com/en, checked 2 Nov 2026; xtb.com/en/forex, checked 2 Nov 2026; xtb.com/en/account-and-fees, checked 2 Nov 2026; plus500.com/en-gb/aboutus, checked 2 Nov 2026; xtb.com/en/platform, checked 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
Plus500 and XTB in dark blue. Read 2 Nov 2026, each figure is the broker's own and comes from the risk warning published on its UK website. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. When trading CFDs with this provider, 76% of retail investor accounts lose money. Think about whether you understand how CFDs work, and about whether you can afford to take on the high risk of losing money.

This is Plus500's own wording, taken from plus500.com, read 2 Nov 2026.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. When trading CFDs with this provider, 74% of retail investor accounts lose money. Think about whether you understand how CFDs work, and about whether you can afford to take on the high risk of losing money.

This is XTB's own wording, taken from xtb.com, read 2 Nov 2026.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons