ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
IG logoXTB logo

IG vs XTB

Since 1 Dec 2001, IG INDEX LIMITED has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 114059, and holds client money. Since 17 Jan 2011, XTB Limited has had authorisation from the FCA, FRN 522157. The firm holds client money.

IG and XTB side by side

Every figure comes from the broker, along with the date we read it. The sequence follows search order, not a preference.

FactIGXTB
UK firmIG INDEX LIMITEDXTB Limited
FRN114059522157
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since1 Dec 200117 Jan 2011
Clone firms on the register09
Retail CFD accounts that lose money70%, read 2 Nov 202674%, read 2 Nov 2026
EUR/USD spread as stated0.6 points (minimum, Spread betting)Not stated
Smallest deposit£250No minimum
Inactivity feeFree (as stated on spread betting/CFD charges tab)No account maintenance fee for any active client, whatever their balance
Withdrawal feefreefree
Withdrawal timeNot statedProcessing takes no more than 3 working days; bank wires and card payments may take 3 working days to allocate.
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingYesNot stated
Share dealingYesYes
Retail leverageup to 30x leverage on selected marketsFor retail clients, the maximum is 1:30 on major forex pairs
PlatformsYou can use MT4 and MT5, TradingView, IG online trading platform, and the mobile app. L2 Dealer, ProRealTime and tastytrade platform for US options and futures are also included.)XTB platform (xStation)
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionYesYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.58 of 5 (34,180 ratings)4.66 of 5 (1,977 ratings)

FCA status and withdrawal fee are the same for both firms. CFDs and share dealing are also the same. Their demo accounts match, as does negative balance protection.

ig.com/uk was read 2 Nov 2026; xtb.com/en was read 2 Nov 2026; ig.com/uk/charges was read 2 Nov 2026; xtb.com/en/forex was read 2 Nov 2026; ig.com/uk/about-us/international-offering was read 2 Nov 2026; xtb.com/en/account-and-fees was read 2 Nov 2026; ig.com/uk/spread-betting was read 2 Nov 2026; xtb.com/en/platform was read 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
IG and XTB in dark blue. Each figure comes from the broker's own UK website risk warning, read 2 Nov 2026. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Trading spread bets and CFDs through this provider leads to money losses for 70% of retail investor accounts. Consider whether you understand the way spread bets and CFDs work. You should also consider whether you can afford to face a high risk of losing your money.

Read 2 Nov 2026, this is IG's own wording on ig.com.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. With this provider, trading CFDs leads to losses for 74% of retail investor accounts. Think about whether you understand how CFDs work. You should also consider whether the high risk of losing your money is one you can afford.

These are XTB's own words from xtb.com, with a reading date of 2 Nov 2026.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons