ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
IG logoPlus500 logo

IG vs Plus500

Since 1 Dec 2001, the FCA, FRN 114059, has authorised IG INDEX LIMITED, which holds client money. Since 29 Jun 2010, the FCA, FRN 509909, has authorised Plus500UK Ltd, which holds client money.

IG and Plus500 side by side

The date we read it appears with each figure from the broker. Their order follows how people search for them, not any preference.

FactIGPlus500
UK firmIG INDEX LIMITEDPlus500UK Ltd
FRN114059509909
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since1 Dec 200129 Jun 2010
Clone firms on the register012
Retail CFD accounts that lose money70%, read 2 Nov 202676%, read 2 Nov 2026
EUR/USD spread as stated0.6 points (minimum, Spread betting)Not stated
Smallest deposit£250Not stated
Inactivity feeFree (as stated on spread betting/CFD charges tab)After no login for at least three months, the charge is up to USD 10 monthly
Withdrawal feefreeNo charge applies (We Don’t Charge Deposit and Withdrawal Fees). Withdrawals under the stated minimum may incur charges.
Withdrawal timeNot statedProcessing normally takes 1-3 working days; e-wallets take 3-7, while bank transfers take 5-7.
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingYesNot stated
Share dealingYesNot stated
Retail leverageup to 30x leverage on selected markets1:30 on Forex CFDs; 1:5 on share CFDs
PlatformsMT4, MT5, TradingView, IG online trading platform plus the mobile app; also available are L2 Dealer, ProRealTime and the tastytrade platform for US options and futures.)Plus500 trading platform (web and app)
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionYesYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.58 of 5 (34,180 ratings)4.25 of 5 (7,849 ratings)

Both brokers have the same FCA status. Both also offer CFDs, a demo account and negative balance protection.

Sources: ig.com/uk, accessed 2 Nov 2026; plus500.com/en-GB, accessed 2 Nov 2026; ig.com/uk/charges, accessed 2 Nov 2026; ig.com/uk/about-us/international-offering, accessed 2 Nov 2026; ig.com/uk/spread-betting, accessed 2 Nov 2026; plus500.com/en-gb/aboutus, accessed 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
IG and Plus500 in dark blue. On 2 Nov 2026, we read each figure from its broker's risk warning on the UK website. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. When customers trade spread bets and CFDs with this provider, 70% of retail investor accounts lose money. Whether you know how spread bets and CFDs work is something you should consider. Whether you can afford the risk of losing your money, which is high, is something you should consider too.

The wording on ig.com is IG's own, read 2 Nov 2026.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. When customers trade CFDs with this provider, 76% of retail investor accounts lose money. You should consider whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money and whether you understand how CFDs work.

The wording on plus500.com is Plus500's own, read 2 Nov 2026.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons