ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
IG logoPepperstone logo

IG vs Pepperstone

Since 1 Dec 2001 the FCA, FRN 114059, has authorised IG INDEX LIMITED, which holds client money. Since 5 Aug 2015 the FCA, FRN 684312, has authorised Pepperstone Limited, which holds client money.

IG and Pepperstone side by side

Every figure comes from the broker, along with the date we checked it. Their sequence reflects the order people search in, not any preferred ranking.

FactIGPepperstone
UK firmIG INDEX LIMITEDPepperstone Limited
FRN114059684312
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since1 Dec 20015 Aug 2015
Clone firms on the register03
Retail CFD accounts that lose money70%, read 2 Nov 202673.6%, read 2 Nov 2026
EUR/USD spread as stated0.6 points (minimum, Spread betting)0 pips (minimum, Razor)
Smallest deposit£250£10
Inactivity feeFree (as stated on spread betting/CFD charges tab)no inactivity fee
Withdrawal feefreefree (GBP 15 for a bank wire sent to an international bank account))
Withdrawal timeNot statedUp to 1 working day for cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay; bank transfers can take up to 7 working days
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingYesYes
Share dealingYesNot stated
Retail leverageup to 30x leverage on selected marketsmajor currency pairs 1:30; major indices and gold 1:20; other commodities 1:10; shares 1:5
PlatformsMT4, MT5, TradingView, IG's online trading platform and mobile app (plus L2 Dealer, ProRealTime, and the tastytrade platform used for US options and futures))MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, Pepperstone platform
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionYesYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.58 of 5 (34,180 ratings)4.12 of 5 (92 ratings)

Both firms match on FCA status and negative balance protection, and both offer CFDs, spread betting and a demo account.

Sources: ig.com/uk, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb, read 2 Nov 2026; ig.com/uk/charges, read 2 Nov 2026. Also pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/costs-and-fees, read 2 Nov 2026; ig.com/uk/about-us/international-offering, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/funding-methods, read 2 Nov 2026; ig.com/uk/spread-betting, read 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
IG and Pepperstone in dark blue. On 2 Nov 2026, we read each broker's own figures from the risk warning displayed on its UK website. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. With this provider, 70% of retail investor accounts lose money on spread bets and CFDs. Consider whether you understand how spread bets work and how CFDs work, and whether taking on a high risk of losing your money is something you can afford.

These words are IG's own, taken from ig.com, read 2 Nov 2026.

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. This provider has 73.6% of retail investor accounts losing money when they trade spread bets and CFDs. Consider whether you understand how spread bets work and how CFDs work, and whether taking on a high risk of losing your money is something you can afford.

These words are Pepperstone's own, taken from pepperstone.com, read 2 Nov 2026.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons