ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
CMC Markets logoPepperstone logo

CMC Markets vs Pepperstone

Since 1 Dec 2001, CMC Markets UK plc has had authorisation from the FCA, FRN 173730. It holds client money. Since 5 Aug 2015, Pepperstone Limited has had authorisation from the FCA, FRN 684312. It holds client money.

Pepperstone and CMC Markets compared

Every figure comes from the broker, and we include the date we read it. This sequence follows what people search for, not any preference ranking.

FactCMC MarketsPepperstone
UK firmCMC Markets UK plcPepperstone Limited
FRN173730684312
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since1 Dec 20015 Aug 2015
Clone firms on the register23
Retail CFD accounts that lose money69%, read 2 Nov 202673.6%, read 2 Nov 2026
EUR/USD spread as stated0.5 pips (minimum, Spread bet / CFD (standard))0 pips (minimum, Razor)
Smallest depositNot stated£10
Inactivity fee££10 each month applies to dormant accounts: one year with no trading and no open positions.)no inactivity fee
Withdrawal feeNo fee applies to card or standard bank transfers, but international bank transfers may have a charge.It's free, except that a bank wire to an international bank account costs GBP 15.)
Withdrawal timeFor a card, the time ranges from within an hour to up to five working days, depending on the issuer; a UK bank takes one to two working days, while an international bank takes three to five.Cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay take no more than 1 working day. Bank transfers take no more than 7 working days.
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingYesYes
Share dealingYesNot stated
Retail leverageNot statedThe ratio is 1:30 for major currency pairs and 1:20 for major indices and gold. Other commodities use 1:10, while shares use 1:5.
PlatformsThe available platforms are MT4, TradingView, CMC Markets web platform and the CMC mobile app ('CMC Platform').')MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, Pepperstone platform
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionNot statedYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.21 of 5 (411 ratings)4.12 of 5 (92 ratings)

The FCA status is the same for both. Each broker also offers CFDs, spread betting and a demo account.

Source: cmcmarkets.com/en-gb/account-comparison, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb, read 2 Nov 2026; cmcmarkets.com/en-gb/forex, read 2 Nov 2026; cmcmarkets.com/en-gb/trading-costs, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/costs-and-fees, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/funding-methods, read 2 Nov 2026

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
CMC Markets and Pepperstone are shown in dark blue. We read each broker's UK website risk warning on 2 Nov 2026 to find its own figure. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Of retail investor accounts using this provider for spread betting and/or trading CFDs, 69% lose money. You should consider whether you understand how spread bets, CFDs, OTC options or any of our other products work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

On cmcmarkets.com, read 2 Nov 2026, you can see CMC Markets's own wording.

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Money losses affect 73.6% of retail investor accounts that trade spread bets and CFDs with this provider. Also consider whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money. Consider whether you understand how spread bets work and how CFDs work.

We read Pepperstone's own wording on pepperstone.com on 2 Nov 2026.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons