ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
Pepperstone logoXTB logo

Pepperstone vs XTB

Since 5 Aug 2015, Pepperstone Limited has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 684312, and it holds client money. FCA, FRN 522157 authorisation has applied to XTB Limited since 17 Jan 2011. The firm holds client money.

Pepperstone and XTB side by side

Every number comes from the broker itself, along with the date we read it. Their order follows how people search for them, not any preference.

FactPepperstoneXTB
UK firmPepperstone LimitedXTB Limited
FRN684312522157
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since5 Aug 201517 Jan 2011
Clone firms on the register39
Retail CFD accounts that lose money73.6%, read 2 Nov 202674%, read 2 Nov 2026
EUR/USD spread as stated0 pips (minimum, Razor)Not stated
Smallest deposit£10No minimum
Inactivity feeno inactivity feeno account maintenance charge for any active client, whatever their balance
Withdrawal feefree (GBP 15 for a bank wire to an international bank account))free
Withdrawal timeCards, Apple Pay and Google Pay take up to 1 working day; bank transfers take up to 7 working daysProcessing takes up to 3 working days; allocating bank wires and card payments takes up to 3 working days
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingYesNot stated
Share dealingNot statedYes
Retail leverageMajor currency pairs have a 1:30 ratio, major indices and gold have 1:20, other commodities have 1:10 and shares have 1:5Up to 1:30 for retail clients on major forex pairs
PlatformsMT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, Pepperstone platformXTB platform (xStation)
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionYesYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.12 of 5 (92 ratings)4.66 of 5 (1,977 ratings)

For both firms, FCA status and CFDs are the same. Their demo account and negative balance protection also match.

Source: pepperstone.com/en-gb, checked on 2 Nov 2026; also xtb.com/en, checked on 2 Nov 2026; also pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/costs-and-fees, checked on 2 Nov 2026; also xtb.com/en/forex, checked on 2 Nov 2026; also pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/funding-methods, checked on 2 Nov 2026; also xtb.com/en/account-and-fees, checked on 2 Nov 2026; also xtb.com/en/platform, checked on 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
Pepperstone and XTB in dark blue. Each broker's own figure appears in its UK website risk warning, read 2 Nov 2026. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. For retail investor accounts using this provider to trade spread bets and CFDs, 73.6% lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs and spread bets work, and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

On pepperstone.com, the wording comes from Pepperstone itself. It was read 2 Nov 2026.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Among retail investor accounts trading CFDs with this provider, 74% lose money. You should consider if you understand how CFDs work, and if you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

On xtb.com, the wording comes from XTB itself. It was read 2 Nov 2026.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons