ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
eToro logoPepperstone logo

eToro vs Pepperstone

Since 9 May 2013, ETORO (UK) LIMITED has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 583263, and it holds client money. Since 5 Aug 2015, Pepperstone Limited has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 684312, and it holds client money.

eToro and Pepperstone side by side

Every figure comes from the broker itself, and we note the date we read it. You see them in the sequence people search them in, which isn't a preference.

FacteToroPepperstone
UK firmETORO (UK) LIMITEDPepperstone Limited
FRN583263684312
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since9 May 20135 Aug 2015
Clone firms on the register53
Retail CFD accounts that lose money55%, read 2 Nov 202673.6%, read 2 Nov 2026
EUR/USD spread as stated0.005% per trade (minimum, Standard)0 pips (minimum, Razor)
Smallest deposit£50£10
Inactivity feeNot statedno inactivity fee
Withdrawal feeNo charge on local currency (GBP) accounts; USD 5 applies to a USD investment accountNo charge (GBP 15 for a bank wire to an international bank account))
Withdrawal timeNot statedcards/Apple Pay/Google Pay within 1 working day; bank transfers take up to 7 working days
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingNot statedYes
Share dealingYesNot stated
Retail leverageNot statedMajor currency pairs sit at 1:30; gold and major indices at 1:20; other commodities at 1:10; shares at 1:5
PlatformsEtoro platform and app (etoro edge terminal)MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, Pepperstone platform
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionNot statedYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.24 of 5 (18,299 ratings)4.12 of 5 (92 ratings)

For both brokers, the FCA status, CFDs and demo account are the same.

Sources: etoro.com, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb, read 2 Nov 2026; etoro.com/trading/fees/cfd-spreads, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/costs-and-fees, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/funding-methods, read 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
eToro and Pepperstone in dark blue. On 2 Nov 2026 we read every figure from the broker's own warning about risk on its UK website. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Trading CFDs with this provider, 55% of retail investor accounts lose money. You should consider two points: whether you know how CFDs work and whether the high risk of losing your money is something you can afford.

On etoro.com, eToro's own words, read 2 Nov 2026.

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. When retail investors trade spread bets and CFDs with this provider, 73.6% of their accounts lose money. You should consider two points: whether you know how both spread bets and CFDs operate and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

On pepperstone.com, Pepperstone's own words, read 2 Nov 2026.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons