ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
Capital.com logoPepperstone logo

Capital.com vs Pepperstone

Since 26 Oct 2018, the FCA, FRN 793714, has authorised Capital Com (UK) Limited. The company holds client money. Since 5 Aug 2015, the FCA, FRN 684312, has authorised Pepperstone Limited. The company holds client money.

Pepperstone and Capital.com side by side

Every figure comes from the broker and includes the date we read it. The order follows what people search for, not any preference.

FactCapital.comPepperstone
UK firmCapital Com (UK) LimitedPepperstone Limited
FRN793714684312
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since26 Oct 20185 Aug 2015
Clone firms on the register13
Retail CFD accounts that lose money65%, read 2 Nov 202673.6%, read 2 Nov 2026
EUR/USD spread as statedNot stated0 pips (minimum, Razor)
Smallest deposit£20£10
Inactivity feeNot statedno inactivity fee
Withdrawal feefreeNo charge (GBP 15 for a bank wire to an international bank account))
Withdrawal timeNot statedCards, Apple Pay and Google Pay: up to 1 working day. Bank transfers take up to 7 working days.
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingYesYes
Retail leverageNot statedMajor currency pairs: 1:30; major indices and gold: 1:20; other commodities: 1:10; shares: 1:5
PlatformsMT4, MT5, TradingView, Capital.com's web platform and mobile app.MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, Pepperstone platform
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionNot statedYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.69 of 5 (17,218 ratings)4.12 of 5 (92 ratings)

Both brokers have the same FCA status, demo account, CFDs and spread betting.

Sources: capital.com/en-gb, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/costs-and-fees, read 2 Nov 2026; capital.com/en-gb/ways-to-trade/fees-and-charges, read 2 Nov 2026; pepperstone.com/en-gb/trading/funding-methods, read 2 Nov 2026; capital.com/en-gb/trading-platforms/demo-account, read 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
Capital.com and Pepperstone appear in dark blue. The broker's own risk warning on its UK website supplies each figure, read 2 Nov 2026. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Among retail investor accounts, 65% lose money when they trade this provider's spread bets and CFDs. Consider whether you understand spread bets and CFDs and how they work, and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

On capital.com, read 2 Nov 2026, these are Capital.com's own words.

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Among retail investor accounts, 73.6% lose money when they trade this provider's spread bets and CFDs. Consider whether you understand spread bets and CFDs and how they work, and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

On pepperstone.com, read 2 Nov 2026, these are Pepperstone's own words.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons