ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
Capital.com logoPlus500 logo

Capital.com vs Plus500

Client money is held by Capital Com (UK) Limited, whose FCA, FRN 793714 authorisation has been in place since 26 Oct 2018. Client money is held by Plus500UK Ltd, whose FCA, FRN 509909 authorisation has been in place since 29 Jun 2010.

Capital.com and Plus500 side by side

Every figure comes from the broker, along with the date on which we read it. Their order follows what people search for rather than any preference.

FactCapital.comPlus500
UK firmCapital Com (UK) LimitedPlus500UK Ltd
FRN793714509909
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since26 Oct 201829 Jun 2010
Clone firms on the register112
Retail CFD accounts that lose money65%, read 2 Nov 202676%, read 2 Nov 2026
Smallest deposit£20Not stated
Inactivity feeNot statedA monthly fee of up to USD 10 applies after at least three months without login.
Withdrawal feefreeThere is no fee (We Don’t Charge Deposit and Withdrawal Fees). Withdrawals under the stated minimum may still incur charges.
Withdrawal timeNot statedProcessing normally takes 1-3 working days; e-wallets take 3-7, while bank transfers take 5-7.
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingYesNot stated
Retail leverageNot stated1:30 on Forex CFDs; 1:5 on share CFDs
PlatformsMT4 is supported. MT5, TradingView, Capital.com's web platform and mobile app are also available.Plus500 trading platform (web and app)
Demo accountYesYes
Negative balance protectionNot statedYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.69 of 5 (17,218 ratings)4.25 of 5 (7,849 ratings)

The FCA status, CFDs and demo account match across both.

The sources are capital.com/en-gb, read 2 Nov 2026; plus500.com/en-GB, read 2 Nov 2026; capital.com/en-gb/ways-to-trade/fees-and-charges, read 2 Nov 2026; capital.com/en-gb/trading-platforms/demo-account, read 2 Nov 2026; plus500.com/en-gb/aboutus, read 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
Capital.com and Plus500 in dark blue. Every figure comes from the broker's own UK website risk warning, read 2 Nov 2026. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Among retail investor accounts using spread bets and CFDs with this provider, 65% lose money. You should consider whether spread bets and CFDs work in a way you understand, and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

On capital.com, read 2 Nov 2026, this is Capital.com's own wording.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Among retail investor accounts trading CFDs with this provider, 76% lose money. Please consider whether you understand the way CFDs work and whether the high risk of losing your money is affordable for you.

On plus500.com, read 2 Nov 2026, this is Plus500's own wording.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons