ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers
CMC Markets logoeToro logo

CMC Markets vs eToro

Since 1 Dec 2001, CMC Markets UK plc has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 173730. It holds client money. Since 9 May 2013, ETORO (UK) LIMITED has been authorised by the FCA, FRN 583263. It holds client money.

CMC Markets and eToro side by side

Every figure comes from the broker itself, and we record the date we read it. The order follows what people search for and doesn't show a preference.

FactCMC MarketseToro
UK firmCMC Markets UK plcETORO (UK) LIMITED
FRN173730583263
Regulatory statusAuthorisedAuthorised
Authorised since1 Dec 20019 May 2013
Clone firms on the register25
Retail CFD accounts that lose money69%, read 2 Nov 202655%, read 2 Nov 2026
EUR/USD spread as stated0.5 pips (minimum, Spread bet / CFD (standard))0.005% per trade (minimum, Standard)
Smallest depositNot stated£50
Inactivity fee££10 each month applies to dormant accounts, which have no open positions and haven't traded for one year.)Not stated
Withdrawal feeNo charge for card or standard bank transfers; international bank transfers may have a feeLocal currency (GBP) accounts pay nothing; a USD investment account is charged USD 5.
Withdrawal timeFor cards, the timing ranges from within an hour to five working days (issuer-dependent). A UK bank takes one to two working days; an international bank takes three to five working days.Not stated
CFDsYesYes
Spread bettingYesNot stated
Share dealingYesYes
PlatformsMT4, TradingView, CMC Markets web platform and the CMC mobile app ('CMC Platform').')Etoro platform and app (etoro edge terminal)
Demo accountYesYes
iPhone app rating, UK App Store4.21 of 5 (411 ratings)4.24 of 5 (18,299 ratings)

For both firms, the details match: demo account, FCA status, share dealing and CFDs.

Sources, each read 2 Nov 2026: cmcmarkets.com/en-gb/account-comparison; etoro.com, read 2 Nov 2026; cmcmarkets.com/en-gb/forex, read 2 Nov 2026; cmcmarkets.com/en-gb/trading-costs, read 2 Nov 2026; etoro.com/trading/fees/cfd-spreads, read 2 Nov 2026.

How the two loss rates stand against the wider field

Share of retail CFD accounts that lose money, by brokerActivTrades 69%, Capital.com 65%, CMC Markets 69%, eToro 55%, FxPro 75%, IG 70%, Pepperstone 73.6%, Plus500 76%, Spreadex 64%, Trading 212 75%, Vantage 72.65%, XTB 74%0%25%50%75%100%ActivTrades69%Capital.com65%CMC Markets69%eToro55%FxPro75%IG70%Pepperstone73.6%Plus50076%Spreadex64%Trading 21275%Vantage72.65%XTB74%
CMC Markets and eToro in dark blue. The figures come from each broker's risk warning on its UK website. We read them on 2 Nov 2026. Each firm sits in A to Z order, with none ranked above another.

The full risk warning from each broker

Spread bets and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. With this provider, spread betting and/or trading CFDs leads to losses for 69% of retail investor accounts. Think about whether the way spread bets, CFDs, OTC options or any other products we offer work makes sense to you. Also consider whether you can afford to take on such a high risk of losing your money.

On cmcmarkets.com, CMC Markets's own wording was read 2 Nov 2026.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. With this provider, trading CFDs leads to losses for 55% of retail investor accounts. Think about whether CFDs are clear to you and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

On etoro.com, eToro's own wording was read 2 Nov 2026.

The full review of each broker

More head-to-head comparisons